Vintage Black and White Photos

Side by Side

Today I’m listening to a collection of old Ink Spots albums…

So making photos look vintage seems appropriate.

Of course, having friends that love dressing up in vintage clothing helps for this one.

Start

First, I’m going to up the contrast a little bit since the photo got a little washed out by the sun.

I’m going to merge this adjustment layer with the original photograph layer so that it won’t interfere with changing it to a black and white photo.

Step 01

Now to turn the photo black and white I’m going to use the Black & White tool in the Adjustments window.

This way to turn things black and white is nice since it lets you play with the color sliders to make colors brighter or darker.

Play with these until it looks good to you, or you can even play with the options in the drop down box.

The Infrared option in there usually brings out an interesting effect.

Step 02

Now I’m merging the black and white layer with the original again.

Then I’m going to up the contrast just a bit then since I’m personally rather fond of high contrast black and white photos.

Step 03

Now I’m just going to clean up the skin and such.

In older photographs they sometimes used green powder on the skin to make it shine less while still making the highlights stand out.

It makes a nice and even skin tone for black and white photography.

Since I didn’t have green powder at the time though, I’m just to fix it up in Photoshop.

Step 04

And now, since black and white photos never seem to manage to stay black and white for long, I’ll put a curve layer over all of this.

I’m going to use Julia Trotti’s “Alice in Wonderland” curve again.

(Once again, the link is at the very bottom of her post.)

I think the purple hues will go nicely with this photo.

And then I think I’ll call this one done.

Step 05

If you want to give it an extra vintage feel, you can always overlay a super grungy texture or even put coffee stains on it.

As always, if there’s something you’d like me to talk about let me know.

Today I’ll leave you with a little bit of Dame Vera Lynn.

(Fun fact: that song’s been covered by both the Ink Spots and Johnny Cash.)

5 thoughts on “Vintage Black and White Photos

  1. The Purple hues give this photo a very classy and aristocratic feeling. I feel like it would be a good billboard a very classy fashion line.

  2. jolt4joy says:

    Oh I like the photo! Vintage is awesome (music, pictures, etc.) 🙂 Glad you went over this.. sometimes that auto black and white just doesn’t cut it! This looks awesome. Also, I enjoy the fun fact. Had no idea! 🙂

  3. katiebyrnes says:

    I love how you made black and white more interesting a cooler looking than normal. I had no clue how to do this!

Leave a comment