Selective Coloring

Side by Side

So here we are again.

Today will be about using coloring to bring focus to your subject.

Start

This is what I started with.

First, I’d like to get rid of the button on her shirt.

It distracting and hard to read anyway.

I’ll start by using the lasso tool to select around the button.

Step 01

Then go up to Edit and Fill from the drop down.

Under the Content options, make sure Content-Aware is selected.

Everything else should be fine, so hit okay.

Step 02

Now, I really should have done this first, but now I’m going to fix the photo’s cropping.

Step 03

Then fix the Brightness and Contrast.

Step 04

Now I’m going to clean up her face a bit, just so it looks nice and polished.

Step 05

Now to use color to focus on the subject.

First, I made a careful outline around the girl’s face.

Step 06

Then hit Command+Shift+I to select the inverse.

Now the Hue/Saturation tool can be used to turn down the Saturation of any and

all colors as much as you want.

The face will stay the same color.

I decided to put it all in black and white.

Step 07

Now I’m using the Gradient tool just so the right side of the photo isn’t so distracting.

The settings I used are visible at the top.

Step 09

Now I’m going to add a Curve.

I used “Toes in the Ocean” by Julia Trotti on this one.

Step 09

I’m going to go ahead and use two, actually.

The other one will be “Wild at Heart”.

And I think I’ll stop at that.

Now that her face had the brightest/only colors in the photo,

it draws you towards it instead of of, say, the guy in the background.

Step 10

As always, If there’s anything you’d like me to discuss, let me know.

This time I’m leaving you with an amazing music video for

Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros’ song “Man on Fire”.

Happy Halloween!

6 thoughts on “Selective Coloring

  1. Love the change from the original photograph! I could spend hours editing photos on my computer.

  2. That looks real good. The gradient definitely focused the subject of the shot.

  3. katiebyrnes says:

    So I feel that I am always commenting on your blog, but photoshop is something that I really want to learn better. This is something cool that I will have to try!

Leave a comment