Adding Overlays

Hello again everyone.

This week I’m going to be playing around a bit with overlays.

Side by Side

I’m going to start by choosing which two images I’d like to combine.

For best results they should be somehow related.

In the case, I’m going for sort of the fantasy of the book having jumped out of the pages so anything beautiful will sort of apply.

Starting Images

Now to simply overlay, copy your second image on top of your first. Then set the opacity down on the top layer (this option is in the top right of the Layers window, displayed as a percentage).

Set the opacity to whatever looks good to you.

Step 01

I set the one here to about 75%, but this covers up the figure in the picture.

I want him to stand out against the “imaginary” background that is supposed to be coming out of the book.

For this, I’m going to use the Lasso tool to select my figure.

(It may help to briefly make your first layer invisible while outlining the figure.)

Step 02

I used the Polygonal Lasso tool because I wanted a sort of cut out feeling to it.

Now, with this area selected, go to your other layer.

Step 03

Make sure you have the overlay image selected in your Layers window.

Now hit delete.

This will clear that area in the layer, and now our figure is visible.Step 04Now it’s time to play with curves again.

Since I’m going for a storybook feel here, I’m going to use “Alice in Wonderland” by Julia Trotti.

(The link for this one is at the very bottom of the post.)

This curve adds lots of purple hues that bring out sort of a fairy tale vibe.

Step 05

Now I’m going to add a quote by William Nicholson.

The font I’m using is called “Delicious Cake” made by Jellyka Nerevan.

Step 06

And now I’ve completed my Public Service Announcement.

Again, if there’s anything you’d specifically like me to talk about, let me know.

And this time, I’ll leave you with this awesome dance video that goes through all the fashion and some of the history from the past 100 years.

8 thoughts on “Adding Overlays

  1. jolt4joy says:

    This is awesome. Not only do I love your end product, but I like that you thoroughly explain how to do it. Oh, and the video at the is a great ending!! haha đŸ™‚

  2. Nice work. Did you do anything to clean up the edge of the guy?

  3. katiebyrnes says:

    That is so cool what you did to the photos. The ending one looks so different and awesome! When I get some free time I’ll have to try this and the other one.

  4. I really like the tips you put up on your blog. I use photoshop a lot for personal things and for amateur works. I did not know how to do an overlay and I will probably use it more often now. There is something I have been trying to do for a while now that I do not really know how, maybe you could help? I was wondering if it is possible to change the color of someones skin (to green, purple, or some other exotic color)? If you could help that would be great, if not, I will still look forward to more tips that you will post! =]

  5. normarashid says:

    Very interesting stuff.

Leave a comment